Religious Education

General Information

As a Catholic School, Christ the King’ Catholic Voluntary Academy’s teaching of Religious Education does not follow the same programme as other state schools. Instead, our R.E. teaching is assessed in line with Diocesan expectations and our programme allows for deeper study of the Catholic Church.

Key Stage 3

The scheme of work studied at Key Stage 3 is very varied, as we follow the People of God framework of study. Students learn about different aspects of Catholic Church teachings and what it means to belong to the Catholic Community which includes World Religions. There is also time for students to reflect on their own beliefs and how these impact upon their lives.

Throughout Key stage 3 pupils study the Nature of God, the Mass, the Person Jesus, prayer, miracles, discipleship, moral issues, the sacraments, the church community and world religions. All units are assessed in line with the Curriculum Directory Religious Education Levels of Attainment within the Nottingham Diocese.

Key Stage 4

All of our students are entered for GCSE in Religious Studies. We follow the Eduqas RS GCSE Specification B studying Catholic Christianity and Judaism. Assessment is through the completion of three exam papers, with the possibility of achieving a level 1-9. For further information contact the RE Department.

Key Stage 5

In the Sixth Form, students can choose to study A level RS which includes Philosophy, Ethics and Christianity, whilst also studying a general RE course covering topics such as Human Rights, Fair-trade, and Poverty.
R.E. gives students the opportunity to explore social justice issues in a spiritual and nurturing environment, providing opportunity for personal reflection and development.

A Level students study the new Eduqas A Level course which includes Religious Ethics, Philosophy of Religion and the Study of a Religion, focused on Christianity.
All 6th form students study the General RE programme, which looks at topical issues in the light of different faith, through research and discussion.